Don’t Wait! Vaccinate!
Did you know that children entering or attending school in NYS, including distance learning, must comply with the NYS immunization requirements?
NOW is the time to schedule routine vaccine appointments and physicals with your child’s healthcare provider.
New York State Law Removes Non-medical School Vaccination Requirements
Governor Andrew M. Cuomo signed legislation on June 13, 2019 removing non-medical exemptions from school vaccination requirements for children in New York State.
With the guidance of the New York State Department of Health (NYSDOH), we want to answer some frequently asked questions about this new law.
What does the law mean to me and my family?
As of June 13, 2019, there is no longer a religious exemption to the requirement that children be vaccinated against measles and other diseases to attend either a public, private or parochial school (for students in pre-kindergarten through 12th grade), or child day care settings.
Why did the Governor remove non-medical school vaccination requirements?
The United States is currently experiencing the worst outbreak of measles in more than 25 years. This new law will help protect the public amid this ongoing outbreak.
For those children who had a religious exemption to vaccination, what are the deadlines for being vaccinated?
Children who are attending child day care or public, private or parochial school and who had a religious exemption to required immunizations, must now receive the first age appropriate dose in each immunization series by June 28, 2019 to attend or remain in school or child day care. Also, by July 14, 2019 parents and guardians of such children must show that they have scheduled appointments for all required follow-up doses. The deadlines for follow-up doses depend on the vaccine. NYSDOH follows the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention’s Advisory Committee on Immunization Practices (ACIP) catch-up immunization schedule for all immunizations that are required to attend school in New York State Click here for the catch-up immunization schedule (page 3)
Are there vaccination requirements for my child to attend a summer school that is overseen by NYSED or a summer child day care programs that is overseen by OCFS?
Yes. This requirement applies to summer school and summer child day care programs.
What is the deadline for the first dose vaccinations if my child is not attending school until September?
NYSDOH encourages parents and guardians of all children who do not have their required immunizations to receive the first dose in each immunization series as soon as possible. The deadline for obtaining first dose vaccinations in each immunization series for children attending school in the fall is 14 days from the first day of school or enrollment in child day care. Within 30 days of the first day of school, parents and guardians of such children must show that they have scheduled appointments for all required follow-up doses.
Does this new legislation apply to my child attending college?
The new legislation did not change the vaccination requirements for college attendance.
Students attending college in NYS can still obtain a religious exemption. NYSDOH
requires that every student attending college be vaccinated against measles, mumps and rubella (MMR), unless the student has a valid religious or medical exemption.
Does this new legislation affect my child’s medical exemption?
No. The new legislation does not affect valid medical exemptions.
For more information on this new legislation: Click here
The 2022 Child/Adolescent and Adult Immunization Schedules are now available!
For healthcare professionals:
- Child and Adolescent Immunization Schedule
- Adult Immunization Schedule (19 and Older)
- Immunization Resources for Healthcare Providers
For the general public:
Parent-friendly schedule formats
Vaccines for Travelers:
Measles Is Just A Rash, Right?
Our nurses often hear parents say that measles is just a rash. Actually, measles can be very dangerous in some populations of people. Did you know that in 2014, globally 122,0000 died from complications of measles.
Is your child susceptible to measles? Any child that is unvaccinated is susceptible to measles. A susceptible child may need to be held at home for up to 21 days if measles is detected in their school or daycare. This is because you can catch it just by being in a room where someone with measles coughed or sneezed.
Is your child behind on vaccines? If your child is behind on vaccines or you aren't sure if your child is due for vaccines, please contact their doctor today!
Check out the video below to learn more about measles.
More information on measles: Click here
Diseases like Diphtheria, Smallpox and Polio have decreased by 100% because of the use of vaccines.
Check Out Our New Flu Video!
Click the arrow below.
Learn More About Vaccines Today!
Take a moment to watch our videos on vaccinations, whooping cough, HPV and shingles vaccines.
Click play on the videos below.
Learn More About Whooping Cough!
Click the play button below.
Questions About HPV?
This video is a great way to learn more about the HPV vaccine.
Click the play button below. (Updated 7/24/2017)
Prevent The Burning Blistering Pain of Shingles!
Learn more about shingles and the shingles vaccine.
Click the play button below. (Updated 7/24/2017)
Meningococcal Vaccine for School
|Meningococcal vaccine (MenACWY) is now required for kids entering grades 7 and 12 in New York State. Meningococcal disease can kill its host within just a few hours. What feels like a cold in the morning can leave a child fighting for his life by dinner time. As the infection progresses, tiny blood vessels are damaged and children who survive their infections may suffer permanent organ damage and loss of fingers, toes, arms or legs. An infection in the brain can result in seizures, permanent neurological deficits and hearing loss.
|Meningococcal infections are rare but because of their severity, every possible measure should be taken to prevent them. Requiring the vaccine for school will save lives. No child should have to experience meningococcemia (infection in the blood) or meningococcal meningitis (infection in the spinal fluid) and no family should lose a child to a disease that can be prevented by a vaccine.
Click here for NY State Vaccines Required for School. Healthcare providers,
click here for a one-page summary of MenACWY vaccination recommendations for 7th and 12th graders who may or may not have been previously vaccinated.
Extensive Meningococcal Rash