Board of Supervisors

2021 Board Photo with Headshots

The Board of Supervisors is the legislative body for the County of Ontario with one Supervisor representing each of the 16 towns, two Supervisors representing the City of Canandaigua, and three Supervisors representing the City of Geneva. Each Supervisor is allocated a certain number of weighted votes which is determined by the population of the Town, Ward, or District he/she represents. The Board meets every third Thursday, temporarily meeting at the 74 Ontario St., Board of Supervisor Chamber, 2nd Floor, Canandaigua, NY.

The members of the Board, at the Organizational Meeting, elect a Chairman to preside at meetings. The Chairman, in turn, selects a Vice-Chair to act in his stead, when necessary, and also appoints the members of the Board’s six standing committees. Each standing committee oversees various departments and agencies and presents resolutions for approval by the full Board on behalf of those departments under its supervisor.

The Clerk of the Board is appointed by the Board, and the primary function of that office is to provide support services and coordinate activities for the Board Chairman and the other twenty members. The office compiles the Board agenda, distributes adopted resolutions, and prepares the Board’s Proceedings as well as providing research services. The Clerk to the Board performs an intermediate service, rather than one that can be measured as an end product. This department provides a facilitating service at the legislative level which makes it of primary importance to the operation of the county.